Singapore eSIM Rules: The Duty Sits With the Telco

Singapore's SIM registration duty sits in telco licences and fires when you buy a licensee's own prepaid line. A roaming data-only eSIM triggers none of it.

All 12 plansfrom $3.99 · up to 20 GB · unlimited

QR valid a year after purchase

12 plans for Singapore, from 1 GB at $3.99 to 20 GB at $16.99, plus 6 unlimited-data tiers. 5 GB for 30 days costs $7.99 — the cheapest of 29 in Asia, against a $10.99 median. Our retail prices from the operator catalogue, checked 28 September 2026.

Get the eSIM

By data

7 days
1GB
$0.57 per day
$3.99 / GB
15 days
2GB
$0.40 per day
$3.00 / GB
30 days
3GB
$0.20 per day lowest per day
$2.00 / GB
30 days
5GB
$0.27 per day
$1.60 / GB
30 days
10GB
$0.33 per day
$1.00 / GB
30 days
20GB
$0.57 per day
$0.85 / GB

Unlimited data — you pick the days

unlimited
3days
Unlimited data
$3.66 / day
unlimited
5days
Unlimited data
$2.40 / day
unlimited
7days
Unlimited data
$2.14 / day
unlimited
10days
Unlimited data
$2.20 / day
unlimited
15days
Unlimited data
$2.13 / day
unlimited
30days
Unlimited data
$1.47 / day

Data only: the profile carries no phone number, your own stays as it is. Not sure of the size? Work it out from your trip. Terms and refunds.

eSIM for Singapore Singtel 5G network
—
—of data
—from first connection

QR code valid a year after purchase — install any day before the trip.

QR by email within minutes · refund until the eSIM is activated

Payment and guarantees

Accepted here
The QR code arrives by email Right after payment, together with a link to the order page. That page keeps the same QR and the manual install code, so a lost email costs nothing.
QR code valid for a year, price locked at checkout Buy now, install the day before you fly — the paid days start only at first connection in Singapore. The exact date is on your order page and in the email — how the window works.
Refund until the eSIM connects for the first time Installing it at home does not count as using it, so the profile can sit in your phone until you land in Singapore. If the profile fails to work through no fault of your device, we refund it whether or not it was installed. Terms and refunds.
Your bank statement will read “JET SHARING” The seller is JET SHARING MOBILITY LLC, trading as eSIM energy. Payment is taken by Stripe — the card number never reaches us.
A person answers Write to support@esimrules.com — replies usually within a few hours during the day, from someone who can act on the order.

What travellers say

Checkout test-bought every 30 minutes — 1147 checks in 30 days, last passed 18:01 UTC, 28 September 2026QR code issued within 6 seconds of payment on every order timed since 7 September 2026No customer reviews published yet — only buyers can leave one, from the link in their order email

What it costs per day

3 GB30 days · $5.99100 MB a day 20¢ a day lowest per day
5 GB30 days · $7.99167 MB a day 27¢ a day
10 GB30 days · $9.99333 MB a day 33¢ a day
2 GB15 days · $5.99133 MB a day 40¢ a day
20 GB30 days · $16.99667 MB a day 57¢ a day
1 GB7 days · $3.99143 MB a day 57¢ a day
Unlimited30 days · $43.99no cap a day $1.47 a day
Unlimited15 days · $31.99no cap a day $2.13 a day
Unlimited7 days · $14.99no cap a day $2.14 a day
Unlimited10 days · $21.99no cap a day $2.20 a day
Unlimited5 days · $11.99no cap a day $2.40 a day
Unlimited3 days · $10.99no cap a day $3.66 a day

Cheapest per day: 3 GB for 30 days at 20¢ a day. The dearest per day is Unlimited for 3 days at $3.66. Short plans always cost more per day: validity is rounded up, and unused days are paid for anyway.

How much data to buy

Four ways people use a phone abroad, sized against this country’s own plans. The gigabytes are an estimate built from published per-hour rates — nobody measured your phone.

Usage3 days7 days15 days
Maps and messages0.15 GB/dayNavigation, chats and a boarding pass — nothing that plays.3 days $3.99 1 GB · 7 days 7 days $5.99 2 GB · 15 days 15 days $5.99 3 GB · 30 days
Everyday traveller0.33–0.37 GB/dayMaps, scrolling and a podcast on the bus — video stays on hotel Wi-Fi.3 days $3.99 1 GB · 7 days 7 days $5.99 3 GB · 30 days 15 days $7.99 5 GB · 30 days
Working trip0.65–1.01 GB/dayAn hour of video calls a day on top of the usual.3 days $5.99 2 GB · 15 days 7 days $7.99 5 GB · 30 days 15 days $9.99 10 GB · 30 days
Video every evening1.65–3.08 GB/dayTwo hours of streaming after dinner.3 days $7.99 5 GB · 30 days 7 days $14.99 Unlimited · 7 days 15 days $31.99 Unlimited · 15 days

The hours behind each row are our assumption, not yours — put your own in and the same rates do the arithmetic.

Where a row shows a range, the cell is sized on the lower number, which assumes the evening runs on hotel Wi-Fi. On mobile data around the clock, read the upper number and take the next size up. The per-hour rates and the 15% added for background traffic are listed with their sources in the calculator.

What applies in Singapore

Runs on 2 partner networks: Singtel, M1 Data rides that network as a visitor. You do not need a local shop, and the profile carries no local number.
Your QR code stays valid for a year after purchase Buy early, install before the trip. The paid days start only at first network use, so the profile can sit in your phone until you land. ›

Operator facts from the Airalo catalogue, read 28 September 2026. Rules and networks change — check the date before you rely on a line here.

The rule this page is about: who it binds, and who it does not

Singapore's SIM registration duty binds licensed telcos, not travellers. It lives in operator licences, which IMDA grants on conditions under the Telecommunications Act 1999. Section 5(2)(e) lets those conditions require “the licensee to do, or not to do, such things as are specified in the licence” (read 8 September 2026). Every registration clause we opened names the Licensee as the obliged party.

The duty attaches to one product, the telco's own prepaid line. Singtel Mobile's facilities-based licence defines it in Schedule C, clause 1.1, modified 2 November 2020. A “Prepaid PCMT Service” is a cellular service “provided by the Licensee in Singapore” that collects advance payments “from subscribers” (read 8 September 2026). A travel eSIM is a foreign operator's service, paid to a foreign operator.

Buy a local prepaid line in a shop, and those clauses reach your purchase. The shop must check your identity document before it records your particulars. It must also refuse anyone under 15. Clause 2.1 bars the Licensee from providing “the Prepaid PCMT Service to any person below 15 years of age” (read 8 September 2026). The duty stays on the seller, and you meet it as a document check or a refused sale.

What you get: the Connect Lah! profile and its packages

You get a prepaid data profile called Connect Lah!, running on Singtel 5G and M1 LTE (catalogue checked 8 September 2026). Our catalogue tracks it as an Airalo listing, priced in US dollars. It records no identity check at purchase (checked 8 September 2026). The APN configures itself on iOS and Android, so nothing needs typing.

Packages come in two shapes, and the shape decides where your trip hits a wall. A fixed tier of 1 GB for 7 days is priced at USD 3.99 (catalogue checked 8 September 2026). The largest fixed tier holds 20 GB for 30 days at USD 16.99 (catalogue checked 8 September 2026). Unlimited tiers are sold by days, and the 7-day one is priced at USD 14.99 (catalogue checked 8 September 2026). The full table of twelve packages sits on the product card, and the figures move without notice.

On a fixed tier the data cap ends your trip, and on an unlimited tier the calendar does. **Pick a window that closes after your return date, not on it.** The profile is rechargeable, so a top-up can carry a trip that runs long (catalogue checked 8 September 2026). That top-up flow went untested from inside Singapore.

Before you fly: your phone, and the 365-day install window

Your handset decides whether any of this works, and no catalogue field describes your handset. A travel eSIM needs a phone that supports eSIM and carries no carrier lock. Neither point was verified for your model here, and our catalogue carries nothing about it. **Open your phone's settings and confirm it lists an eSIM or digital SIM before you buy.**

A purchase can sit uninstalled for up to 365 days (catalogue checked 8 September 2026). Install at home, on a network you trust, and leave the new line switched off. Activation runs from first usage, not from checkout (catalogue checked 8 September 2026). An early install therefore spends no day of your window.

Arrival: Changi, and when the day count starts

The day count starts when the profile first connects, not when you pay (catalogue checked 8 September 2026). Land at Changi, then switch the travel line on and let it find a network. **Switch the eSIM on only after landing, and set it as the data line.**

If nothing attaches in the terminal, restart the phone before changing any setting. Then check that the line is switched on and that data roaming is allowed for that profile. A terminal building is also a poor place to judge a network. No test at Changi stands behind this page.

No document we read creates a register of inbound roamers. Registration in the licences runs on the licensee's own prepaid subscribers, under Schedule C, clause 3.1 (read 8 September 2026). Your passport goes to immigration, and nothing about the eSIM travels with it.

The passport clause, and the words that switch it on

A passport is demanded when you buy a Singapore telco's prepaid line, and never for a roaming profile. The trigger stands in Schedule C, clause 3.4(a), which applies “where the subscriber purchases the Prepaid PCMT Service(s) in Singapore”. There the licensee must require an identity card, passport or listed pass. It must also “make and keep a photocopy of such evidence of identity” (read 8 September 2026). Read as a traveller rule, the clause looks like a border requirement. Read as written, it binds a shop selling its own service.

Buying that same service abroad does not release the licensee either. Clause 3.2(b) covers a subscriber who “did not purchase the Prepaid PCMT Service in Singapore”. It sends the licensee to documents recognised in the country of purchase (read 8 September 2026). Both branches describe the licensee's own line. Neither describes a profile bought from a foreign operator.

The wording is not one operator's quirk. SIMBA Telecom Pte. Ltd. holds a facilities-based licence issued on 1 April 2017, and its Schedule C, clause 1.1 carries the same definition (read 8 September 2026). IMDA's services-based licence template repeats the structure at Schedule B, Annex 8, clause 5.3 (Version 3, 21 January 2019, read 8 September 2026). The StarHub and M1 licences went unopened.

What a tourist eSIM skips entirely

A roaming data-only eSIM triggers none of Singapore's SIM controls. Clause 3.1 makes the licensee “register subscribers of its Prepaid PCMT Service via the prescribed electronic registration system” (read 8 September 2026). You are not that licensee's subscriber, so no record is opened and no photocopy is taken.

The line caps count local lines registered to a person. Prepaid registration has been capped at 3 SIM cards per person across all telcos since April 2014 (IMDA press release, 23 January 2026, paragraph 2, read 8 September 2026). Postpaid tightens to 10 per person across all telcos from 28 February 2026 (same release, paragraph 6). The licences never print those figures, and say only “prescribed limit” at Schedule C, clause 3.6.

One line in that release matters if you also buy locally. Paragraph 7 names what falls outside that change, including “data-only SIM cards that cannot send SMS and make calls” (read 8 September 2026). That exclusion is written about the postpaid change of 28 February 2026. Whether it carries over to the prepaid cap of April 2014 is not stated there. No document saying so turned up.

Your phone: no registration, and no IMEI list

Your handset needs no registration in Singapore, and no IMEI list exists to join. Regulation 65(1) of the Telecommunications (Radio-communication) Regulations deems a person who “possesses or uses a relevant radio-communication station” to hold “an individual station class licence” (read 8 September 2026). Regulation 65(4) counts “a public cellular mobile telephone system” among the systems that make a station relevant. Regulation 65(3) adds that no fee is payable.

One offence in the Act reads wider until you finish the sentence. Section 55(1) punishes operating radio-communication equipment “without a licence granted under section 5 or any regulations made under this Act” (read 8 September 2026). Regulation 65 is such a regulation, and it grants that licence automatically.

The Third Schedule adds one condition, that the station be approved before connection to a public licensee's network (read 8 September 2026). Approval work sits with suppliers. IMDA's equipment guide puts the licence on “a supplier (local dealer) who wishes to manufacture, import, [...] sell” telecommunication equipment (GUIDE EQR 2024, paragraph 3.1.1, read 8 September 2026). The same guide's revision history records that individual approval ended for single items brought from overseas for personal use. A revision table is context, not normative text, and we read it that way.

Coverage: the two networks your profile rides

The catalogue lists Singtel 5G and M1 LTE for this profile, and records no coverage gap for Singapore (checked 8 September 2026). An empty coverage field is a blank, not a clean bill of health. Which network the profile selects, and when it hands over, went unverified here.

No speed test, indoor test or MRT tunnel test stands behind this page. Take the two network names as the claim, and everything about performance as untested. **Check the seller's coverage page if one district decides your trip.**

Two lines, and a profile with no number

This profile brings you no Singapore number, because our catalogue records its plan type as data (checked 8 September 2026). No SMS follows from a data plan either. That reading is ours, not a separate catalogue field. Bank codes and app logins keep arriving on your home line, or they do not arrive at all. **Keep the home SIM on for SMS, and switch data roaming off on that home line.**

No rule against calls over messaging apps appears in the documents we read. IP telephony is a licensed service in Singapore, which is the opposite of a forbidden one. The services-based licence template states at Schedule B, Annex 14, clause 1.1 that “The Licence enables the Licensee to provide IP Telephony services” (read 8 September 2026). That is a negative result across the corpus we opened, not a permission written for users.

Sources and freshness

Every document behind this page was read on 8 September 2026, and the links sit below. The legal spine is the Telecommunications Act 1999, sections 5 and 55, in the consolidation in force from 1 October 2025. Beside it sit the Telecommunications (Radio-communication) Regulations, regulation 65 and the Third Schedule, in the version in force from 1 April 2016. The licence texts are the facilities-based licences of Singtel Mobile and SIMBA, plus IMDA's services-based licence template. The legislation site refused our fetch tool with a 403, so both statutes were retrieved by direct request with browser headers.

Five gaps stay open on the legal side, and none of them moves the verdict for a visitor. The StarHub and M1 licences went unopened, so the identical Schedule C wording is confirmed for two operators, not four. The figures 3 and 10 appear in IMDA's release and website, never in the licence text, which says only “prescribed limit”. Operator terms describe a time limit on passport-registered prepaid lines, and attribute it to an IMDA requirement. No IMDA text behind that turned up, so the mismatch is published here without a figure we cannot source. Whether a foreign eSIM seller needs its own Singapore licence went unchecked. So did the rule that IMDA materials describe as barring GSM gateway devices with five or more SIM slots from 1 February 2025. That one concerns dealer hardware, not phones.

On the product side, nothing was tested inside Singapore. No coverage, speed, indoor or MRT test was run, and the in-country top-up flow went untried. Immigration and airport practice at Changi went unobserved. Whether your handset supports eSIM, and whether a carrier lock sits on it, was not checked here. Product facts come from our catalogue snapshot, checked 8 September 2026. Tiers and figures change without notice, so recheck them at the seller on the day you buy.

FAQ

Do you have to register a travel eSIM in Singapore?
No. The registration duty falls on a licensee handling its own prepaid service, under Schedule C, clause 3.1 (read 8 September 2026). A foreign roaming profile is not that service.
Will anyone ask for your passport because of your eSIM?
Only if you buy a local prepaid line. Clause 3.4(a) applies “where the subscriber purchases the Prepaid PCMT Service(s) in Singapore”, and the shop keeps a photocopy of your document (read 8 September 2026).
Will it work on your phone?
Only if your phone supports eSIM and carries no carrier lock. Our catalogue carries no field about handsets, and nothing about your model was verified here. Check the eSIM entry in your phone's settings, and ask your home carrier about a lock.
How and when do you install it?
Install it at home, not at the airport. A purchase can wait up to 365 days for installation (catalogue checked 8 September 2026). Leave the line switched off until you land at Changi.
When does the day count start?
When the profile first connects. Our catalogue records activation as first usage (checked 8 September 2026). An early purchase spends no day of the window.
Can you share it as a hotspot?
Our catalogue records nothing about tethering, and no hotspot test stands behind this page. Check the package page before you buy if hotspot use decides the purchase.
What do you do if the data runs out in Singapore?
Top up. The catalogue records the profile as rechargeable (checked 8 September 2026). That flow went untested from inside Singapore, so treat the step as unverified.
Do you get a Singapore phone number?
No. The catalogue records the plan type as data (checked 8 September 2026), and a data plan carries no number and no SMS. Keep your home line on for SMS codes.

Before you fly: the checklist

  • Confirm your phone supports eSIM and carries no carrier lock before you buy.
  • Pick a package window that closes after your return date (catalogue checked 8 September 2026).
  • Install the Connect Lah! profile at home, on a network you trust.
  • Leave the travel line switched off until you land at Changi.
  • Set the eSIM as the data line, and keep the home SIM on for SMS codes.
  • Switch data roaming off on the home line before you board.
  • Leave the APN alone, since it configures itself on iOS and Android.
  • If nothing connects at Changi, restart the phone and check the line is on.
  • Carry your passport for immigration, not for the eSIM.
  • If you also buy a local prepaid line, bring a document and expect a photocopy.

Sources and freshness

Telecommunications Act 1999 (Singapore), ss. 5 and 55, Informal Consolidation, version in force from 1 October 2025 — the document, read 8 September 2026.

Telecommunications (Radio-communication) Regulations (Cap. 323, Rg 5), reg. 65 and Third Schedule, version in force from 1 April 2016 — the document, read 8 September 2026.

Licence to Provide Facilities-Based Operations, Singapore Telecom Mobile Pte Ltd, Schedule C, cll. 1.1, 2.1, 3.1, 3.2(b), 3.4(a), 3.6 (modified 2 November 2020) — the document, read 8 September 2026.

Licence to Provide Facilities-Based Operations, SIMBA Telecom Pte. Ltd. (redacted copy, issued 1 April 2017), Schedule C, cl. 1.1 — the document, read 8 September 2026.

Services-Based Operations (Individual) Licence template, Version 3, 21 January 2019, Schedule B, Annex 8, cl. 5.3 and Annex 14, cl. 1.1 — the document, read 8 September 2026.

IMDA GUIDE EQR: 2024, Guide for Registration of Telecommunication Equipment, Issue 1, Rev 11 August 2024, para. 3.1.1 and revision history — the document, read 8 September 2026.

IMDA press release, Tightening of limit on number of postpaid SIM cards, 23 January 2026, paras. 2, 3, 6, 7 — the document, read 8 September 2026.

IMDA, Anti-Scam Measures, section Tightened SIM Card Safeguards — the document, read 8 September 2026.

What we did not check: The StarHub and M1 licences went unopened, so the identical Schedule C wording is confirmed for two operators, not four. The figures 3 and 10 sit in IMDA's press release and website, never in licence text, which says only “prescribed limit”. Operator terms describe a time limit on passport-registered prepaid lines and attribute it to an IMDA requirement; no IMDA document behind that was found, and the operator terms themselves were not opened, so the mismatch is published without a figure. Whether a foreign eSIM seller needs its own Singapore licence was not checked. The rule that IMDA materials describe as barring GSM gateway devices with five or more SIM slots from 1 February 2025 was not opened in its normative text. Whether paragraph 7 of the 23 January 2026 release also excludes data-only lines from the prepaid cap of April 2014 is not stated in that release. On the product side, no coverage, speed, indoor or MRT test was run, the in-country top-up flow went untried, practice at Changi went unobserved, and handset eSIM support and carrier locks were not checked from here. The Act and the Regulations were retrieved by direct request with browser headers after the legislation site returned 403 to our fetch tool.

What this costs against the rest of Asia

Dearer nearby

Our retail prices from the operator catalogue, checked 28 September 2026.

Elsewhere in Asia

Which of these rules actually reach a traveller ›

Nadezhda Semenova · updated 8 Sept 2026

Every figure on this page carries the date we checked it. Rules change — verify with the regulator before you fly.