Guides · 4 min read
How Long Is an eSIM QR Code Valid? Buying in Advance
The short answer
Long enough to buy early. On the network partner’s terms, the QR code for 202 of the 215 destinations sold here stays valid for a year after purchase. Israel gives 90 days. For 12 destinations — the United Arab Emirates, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Pakistan, the Maldives, Mauritius, Madagascar, Bhutan, Gabon, Guam, Timor-Leste and Uzbekistan — no window is published, and this site does not invent one: those storefronts, order pages and emails simply say nothing about a date.
The window is not the same thing as the paid days. The days start only when the eSIM first connects to a network in the destination — the policy of 364 of the 369 operators in the catalogue. Five operators start the clock at installation instead; their storefronts say so in the same line, and for those plans the right day to install is the day you travel.
So the intended order is: buy when you plan the trip, install at home over Wi-Fi (iPhone · Android), fly, switch data roaming on for the travel profile after landing. Installing at home costs nothing and does not count as using the eSIM, which is why a refund is still possible until that first connection.
Where the date shows up
Every storefront with a published window carries the line “Your QR code stays valid for a year after purchase” (or “90 days”) next to the plans. After payment the order page and the email print the exact date for your plan — for a profile issued on 12 September 2026 with a one-year window, “You can install this profile until 12 September 2027”. The date is computed from the issue time and the partner’s current window, never stored, so a change in the partner’s terms shows up the next time you open the page.
If a profile has not been installed and its window closes within 30 days, one reminder email goes out with that date. It goes out once. For the 90-day destination that reminder is the first thing a slow buyer will see.
What buyers actually do — measured, not assumed
Checked 14 September 2026 against the partner’s records for every profile issued here since 14 August 2026: nine profiles. Seven have connected. The median gap between payment and first network use was about 17 hours; six of the seven connected within 31 hours of paying; the slowest took four days. Two have not connected yet — one bought two days ago, and one bought on 14 August that has sat uninstalled for a month. Its window runs to August 2027, and that is the point of the year: nobody needs it most weeks, and the one person who does is covered.
This is a small sample from a new storefront, and it is printed as such. It will be re-measured, and the sentence above updated, as the numbers change.
What other sellers publish about it
Checked on 14 September 2026 by reading each seller’s own help pages; “not stated” means the page we could read does not name a window, not that the seller has none.
Yesim — the one seller with an explicit term on the page we read: “If you are not planning to use your mobile internet right away, you can tap “Activate later” during the purchase of a new prepaid data plan and activate it during the next 12 months.” (yesim.app, 14 September 2026).
Airalo — the help article “When can I install my eSIM?” explains when the validity period starts (on arrival for most plans, at installation for some) and does not state how long an eSIM can wait before installation. Not stated.
Holafly — the FAQ on getting an eSIM with a QR code explains how to choose the number of days and that the plan runs once activated; no installation window is named. Not stated.
Nomad — the help page as served to us carried no statement about a window. Not stated. Ubigi — the FAQ page carried none either. Not stated.
Saily — the help centre and the blog post on QR codes answered our requests with access errors, so nothing could be read. Unknown, and written as unknown.
FAQ
Does the QR code expire if I don't install right away?
Can I buy an eSIM months before my trip?
When do the paid days start counting?
What if my destination shows no window?
Sources and freshness
Windows per destination: the network partner’s catalogue as loaded on 14 September 2026 (the field is read on every nightly refresh, so the storefront lines follow the catalogue, not this article). Buyer timing: the partner’s per-profile records for the nine profiles issued between 14 August and 14 September 2026. Other sellers: their own pages on 14 September 2026, linked above.
AdvisorySources cited only — expert review pending. For individualized advice, consult a licensed professional.