India eSIM: Zero Hits for 'SIM,' Three for the Full Term

An India eSIM from Indicomm runs on Jio, LTE, data-only, no KYC required. Android needs the APN typed in manually as globaldata. Checked 17 August 2026.

All 12 plansfrom $4.49 · up to 20 GB · unlimited

QR valid a year after purchase

12 plans for India, from 1 GB at $4.49 to 20 GB at $37.99, plus 6 unlimited-data tiers. 5 GB for 30 days costs $13.99 — 20th cheapest of 29 in Asia, against a $10.99 median. Our retail prices from the operator catalogue, checked 28 September 2026.

Get the eSIM

By data

7 days
1GB
$0.64 per day
$4.49 / GB
15 days
2GB
$0.50 per day
$3.75 / GB
30 days
3GB
$0.32 per day lowest per day
$3.16 / GB
30 days
5GB
$0.47 per day
$2.80 / GB
30 days
10GB
$0.77 per day
$2.30 / GB
30 days
20GB
$1.27 per day
$1.90 / GB

Unlimited data — you pick the days

unlimited
3days
Unlimited data
$6.83 / day
unlimited
5days
Unlimited data
$6.00 / day
unlimited
7days
Unlimited data
$5.43 / day
unlimited
10days
Unlimited data
$4.60 / day
unlimited
15days
Unlimited data
$4.27 / day
unlimited
30days
Unlimited data
$3.30 / day

Data only: the profile carries no phone number, your own stays as it is. Not sure of the size? Work it out from your trip. Terms and refunds.

eSIM for India VI India network
—
—of data
—from first connection

QR code valid a year after purchase — install any day before the trip.

QR by email within minutes · refund until the eSIM is activated

Payment and guarantees

Accepted here
The QR code arrives by email Right after payment, together with a link to the order page. That page keeps the same QR and the manual install code, so a lost email costs nothing.
QR code valid for a year, price locked at checkout Buy now, install the day before you fly — the paid days start only at first connection in India. The exact date is on your order page and in the email — how the window works.
Refund until the eSIM connects for the first time Installing it at home does not count as using it, so the profile can sit in your phone until you land in India. If the profile fails to work through no fault of your device, we refund it whether or not it was installed. Terms and refunds.
Your bank statement will read “JET SHARING” The seller is JET SHARING MOBILITY LLC, trading as eSIM energy. Payment is taken by Stripe — the card number never reaches us.
A person answers Write to support@esimrules.com — replies usually within a few hours during the day, from someone who can act on the order.

What travellers say

Checkout test-bought every 30 minutes — 1143 checks in 30 days, last passed 16:00 UTC, 28 September 2026QR code issued within 6 seconds of payment on every order timed since 7 September 2026No customer reviews published yet — only buyers can leave one, from the link in their order email

What it costs per day

3 GB30 days · $9.49100 MB a day 32¢ a day lowest per day
5 GB30 days · $13.99167 MB a day 47¢ a day
2 GB15 days · $7.49133 MB a day 50¢ a day
1 GB7 days · $4.49143 MB a day 64¢ a day
10 GB30 days · $22.99333 MB a day 77¢ a day
20 GB30 days · $37.99667 MB a day $1.27 a day
Unlimited30 days · $98.99no cap a day $3.30 a day
Unlimited15 days · $63.99no cap a day $4.27 a day
Unlimited10 days · $45.99no cap a day $4.60 a day
Unlimited7 days · $37.99no cap a day $5.43 a day
Unlimited5 days · $29.99no cap a day $6.00 a day
Unlimited3 days · $20.49no cap a day $6.83 a day

Cheapest per day: 3 GB for 30 days at 32¢ a day. The dearest per day is Unlimited for 3 days at $6.83. Short plans always cost more per day: validity is rounded up, and unused days are paid for anyway.

How much data to buy

Four ways people use a phone abroad, sized against this country’s own plans. The gigabytes are an estimate built from published per-hour rates — nobody measured your phone.

Usage3 days7 days15 days
Maps and messages0.15 GB/dayNavigation, chats and a boarding pass — nothing that plays.3 days $4.49 1 GB · 7 days 7 days $7.49 2 GB · 15 days 15 days $9.49 3 GB · 30 days
Everyday traveller0.33–0.37 GB/dayMaps, scrolling and a podcast on the bus — video stays on hotel Wi-Fi.3 days $4.49 1 GB · 7 days 7 days $9.49 3 GB · 30 days 15 days $13.99 5 GB · 30 days
Working trip0.65–1.01 GB/dayAn hour of video calls a day on top of the usual.3 days $7.49 2 GB · 15 days 7 days $13.99 5 GB · 30 days 15 days $22.99 10 GB · 30 days
Video every evening1.65–3.08 GB/dayTwo hours of streaming after dinner.3 days $13.99 5 GB · 30 days 7 days $37.99 Unlimited · 7 days 15 days $63.99 Unlimited · 15 days

The hours behind each row are our assumption, not yours — put your own in and the same rates do the arithmetic.

Where a row shows a range, the cell is sized on the lower number, which assumes the evening runs on hotel Wi-Fi. On mobile data around the clock, read the upper number and take the next size up. The per-hour rates and the 15% added for background traffic are listed with their sources in the calculator.

What applies in India

Runs on VI India (4G) Data rides that network as a visitor. You do not need a local shop, and the profile carries no local number.
Your QR code stays valid for a year after purchase Buy early, install before the trip. The paid days start only at first network use, so the profile can sit in your phone until you land. ›

Operator facts from the Airalo catalogue, read 28 September 2026. Rules and networks change — check the date before you rely on a line here.

Does this apply to you? (a zero that means the opposite of what it usually means)

An eSIM India is Indicomm, Airalo’s data-only profile running on the Jio network at Long-Term Evolution (LTE) speeds, sold without a physical Subscriber Identity Module (SIM). The Telecommunications Act, 2023 (Act No. 44 of 2023) is read here in its “As on the 24th June, 2026” consolidated edition, checked 17 August 2026. The letter sequence “sim” appears zero times in it.

It does not even turn up inside a longer word such as “similar” anywhere in the text. The Act still criminalizes the exact thing a SIM-registration search is looking for. It just spells the object out in full: “subscriber identity module,” three times, always plural.

That is the opposite of what a zero has meant on two country pages this project already published. Zero settled the question there. Here it opens it.

This page covers the eSIM for India sold on this site: Indicomm, data-only, roaming on Jio at LTE. It reads one primary source: the Act’s text, consolidated to 24 June 2026, 82,130 characters. It states, section by section, what that text does and does not say. That includes one subsection this edition’s own commencement record does not show as switched on.

Why the zero here is a trap, not a green light

We have run a whole-word, case-insensitive count for “SIM” against national telecom law twice before on this project. On the Netherlands page, zero hits meant exactly what it looked like: the Telecommunicatiewet carries no SIM-registration duty at all. On the New Zealand page, zero hits for the whole word “SIM” meant the same thing. A looser, substring search on that same page returns 14 hits in the Telecommunications Act 2001 and 3 in TICSA.

Every one of those hits sits inside a single word, “similar,” and nothing else. We flagged that trap so a reader repeating our search wouldn’t be misled by it.

India’s Act does not even offer that trap. A case-insensitive substring count for “sim” is the loosest test there is. Run against the full 82,130-character document, it returns zero. Run again against the 78,050-character body alone, with the title page and table of contents stripped out, it still returns zero. No word containing that letter sequence exists anywhere in the text — not “similar,” not anything else.

And the answer is still yes: a rule exists. The Act writes the object whole. “Subscriber identity module” appears three times, checked the same two ways. Same result both times: twice in section 42(3), once in the Third Schedule, every occurrence plural. A reader who runs “SIM” through this Act and stops at zero gets the wrong answer. A reader who runs “subscriber identity module” instead gets three hits and the actual rule.

The lesson generalizes past this one Act. A legislature’s word choice, not a searcher’s habit, decides what a keyword search finds. Check the abbreviation and the full term both, before reporting a zero as an answer.

What Section 3(7) actually requires — and whether it’s switched on yet

Section 3(7) reads as follows.

“Any authorised entity which provides such telecommunication services as may be notified by the Central Government, shall identify the person to whom it provides telecommunication services through use of any verifiable biometric based identification as may be prescribed.”

Three separate gates sit inside that one sentence. None of them can be answered from this text alone.

The duty falls on what the Act calls an “authorised entity.” Section 2(e) defines that as “a person holding an authorisation under section 3” — India’s own telecom licensee. The duty applies only to services the Central Government has separately notified. That is a specific, published list, and we have not read any such notification. The method itself is left to rules. The Central Government has the power to write them, but this text does not contain them. Section 56(2)(e), the Act’s rule-making power, names the exact gap directly.

“the verifiable biometric based identification to be used by an authorised entity of telecommunication services under sub-section (7) of section 3;”

That is one of the matters the Central Government’s rule-making power under section 56 may cover. A power to write that rule exists. The rule itself, we have not read.

There is a fourth gate, and this text does answer it. It goes further than the first three. Section 1(3) sets up staggered commencement for the whole Act. Different dates may be appointed for different provisions. Each one switches on by its own notice in the Official Gazette. This edition carries exactly one footnote, listing every commencement notification made so far. The first notice, dated 26 June 2024, brings a long list of sections into force. It runs 1, 2, 10 to 30, 42 to 44, 46, 47, 50 to 58, 61 and 62. Section 3 is not among them. The second, 5 July 2024, adds sections 6 to 8, 48 and 59(b). Section 3 is still absent. The third, dated 23 June 2026, brings only two subsections of section 3 into force.

“sub-section (1) and sub-section (6) of section 3”

Sub-section (7) does not appear in that list, or in either of the other two.

That is what this edition’s own commencement record shows. It is not a claim that no fourth notification exists anywhere. The text is dated 24 June 2026, one day after that third notification. A later Gazette notice would not appear here. On the record this text carries, the biometric-identification duty in section 3(7) has not been shown switched on. Neither of its two trigger conditions has been read, which is a separate point.

This duty, once active, addresses an Indian licensee identifying someone it serves. Indicomm’s data profile roams onto Jio’s network from outside India. It is not the authorised entity the section names. A traveller who instead opens a contract for a local Indian number starts a different transaction. Whatever identification rules that transaction meets are not covered here. That includes section 3(7) once switched on, and DoT and TRAI rules this page has not read.

Criminal exposure that names SIMs specifically: section 42(3)

Section 42(3) lists six contraventions sharing one punishment. Two name subscriber identity modules directly.

“(d) possesses radio equipment without an authorisation or an exemption that can accommodate more than specified number of subscriber identity modules; (e) obtains subscriber identity modules or other telecommunication identifiers through fraud, cheating or personation;”

The same subsection closes with one shared penalty: imprisonment up to three years, a fine up to fifty lakh rupees, or both. Fifty lakh rupees is ₹50,00,000 — one lakh equals 100,000 in the Indian numbering system. Section 42(7) adds that every offence under this section is “cognizable and non-bailable.” Both terms are defined by Indian criminal procedure rather than by this Act, and this page has not read that procedure. Section 42(8) sets the trial floor at a Chief Metropolitan or Chief Judicial Magistrate.

Unlike section 3(7), section 42 is not waiting on a commencement notification. It sits inside the first list, in force since 26 June 2024. Owning radio equipment rigged for more subscriber identity modules than a licence allows is a live criminal offence in India today. So is acquiring modules by fraud, cheating or impersonation.

Neither clause describes buying and installing a travel eSIM through an authorised seller. Both describe deliberately circumventing the authorisation and identification system the Act sets up elsewhere.

The civil penalty for too many SIMs — real, but the number is not in this law

The Third Schedule sets civil penalties separately from section 42’s criminal ones. Item 1 groups two contraventions under one entry.

“(a) Possessing radio equipment without an authorisation or an exemption, except for the offence under clauses (d) and (f) of sub-section (3) of section 42; (b) Use of subscriber identity modules in excess of number notified.”

Against that entry, a first offence draws a civil penalty up to fifty thousand rupees. Each subsequent offence draws a civil penalty up to two lakh rupees, for each such instance. The table does not make explicit which figure attaches to which lettered contravention — read here as written, not resolved. What the text is clear about: using more subscriber identity modules than “the number notified” is listed as drawing a civil penalty per instance. The Act itself does not state that number. It is set elsewhere, by a notification this page has not located.

The commencement test run on section 3(7) above applies here too, and it gives the same answer. The Third Schedule operates through section 33, which has an Adjudicating Officer impose the penalty, and that officer is appointed under section 35. Neither section appears on this edition’s commencement record. The first notice covers sections 10 to 30, then jumps to 42. Sections 31 to 41 are on no list, in any of the three notices. On the record this text carries, the machinery that would impose this civil penalty has not been shown switched on either. As with section 3(7), that is what this edition shows — not a claim that no later notification exists.

That is a real limit with no stated figure. It is the opposite problem from Hong Kong. That regulator’s own guidance names the individual-user cap outright: ten SIM cards, not the three that circulates in secondary sources. India’s law confirms a cap exists and leaves the number itself unread.

What you get: Indicomm on Jio, LTE, data-only

Indicomm is the eSIM for India sold on this site: data-only, roaming on the Jio network at LTE. Checkout runs no Know Your Customer (KYC) step.

PlanPrice
1 GB / 7 days$4.49
2 GB / 15 days$7.49
3 GB / 30 days$9.49
5 GB / 30 days$13.99
10 GB / 30 days$22.99
20 GB / 30 days$37.99
Unlimited / 3 days$20.49
Unlimited / 5 days$29.99
Unlimited / 7 days$37.99
Unlimited / 10 days$45.99
Unlimited / 15 days$63.99
Unlimited / 30 days$98.99
Prices in USD as charged on this site, from the operator catalogue, checked 28 September 2026.

The 5 GB, 30-day plan is the one most two-to-four-week India trips land on.

This eSIM for India ships as a single data-only product: no voice line, no local phone number. The profile is rechargeable, with no fixed expiry tied to the package itself.

The APN on Android: globaldata — the same value as China

On Android, type globaldata into the Access Point Name (APN) field manually. This eSIM for India needs that value entered before data will connect. Without it, the profile installs but carries no data. iOS sets this automatically. Android does not.

This is the identical value this project already documented for China's Chinacom profile — two unrelated countries, same manual APN string.

Before you fly, and on landing

Install this eSIM for India before departure, on Wi-Fi, not after landing. The install link needs a working connection, and airport signal on arrival is not guaranteed.

Nothing activates at install. On every Airalo-catalog product this project has checked — USA, China, Hong Kong — the usage clock starts at first connection. It does not start at install or checkout. A profile showing installed but inactive before you board is expected, not a fault.

Running the India eSIM alongside a home SIM works on any dual-SIM phone. Set Indicomm as the data line. Turn off cellular data — not the whole line — on the home SIM, so nothing pulls a roaming charge by accident.

If this is a first eSIM install, the iPhone guide and the Android guide cover the QR-scan and manual-entry paths in full. For Airalo’s own track record across destinations, see the Airalo review.

What we did not read

Several categories of Indian law and process sit outside what this page checked. Each could change how the sections above play out.

The Central Government’s notification of which telecommunication services trigger section 3(7)'s biometric-identification duty was not located. Neither was any rule prescribing the biometric method itself. Section 56(2)(e) names that exact rule as a power the Central Government holds. A fourth notice could exist, issued after this edition’s 24 June 2026 date. Whether it switches on section 3(7) was not checked.

The notified number that sets the Third Schedule’s SIM-per-person civil-penalty threshold was not located.

DoT and TRAI’s own rules and guidance were not read. That includes whatever they set for identity checks at the point of sale to a tourist. This page reads the Telecommunications Act, 2023 only, not the regulators' subordinate rules issued under it.

The transition from the old Indian Telegraph Act, 1885, was not traced in full. Section 3(4) and 3(6) both reference it, for pre-existing licences and exemptions. Only the two subsections of this Act that touch it were read.

One more item is worth naming rather than dropping silently, outside this page’s legal reading. A dated search of this project’s own competitor data, for “is airalo banned in india,” turned up reports from three Indian outlets: Times of India, LiveMint, Croma. All of them are dated January 2024, two and a half years before this page’s reading. They describe a DoT direction to remove the Airalo app from Indian app stores and block its website. This page has not read that direction. It has not checked whether the direction is still in effect, and it has not checked whether this site’s own eSIM for India, sourced from the same catalog, is affected.

FAQ

Is eSIM illegal in India?
No. The Telecommunications Act, 2023 criminalizes specific misuse: equipment rigged for more subscriber identity modules than authorised, and modules obtained through fraud or impersonation. Both fall under section 42(3). Neither describes the ordinary purchase or use of a data-only eSIM.
Do I need to submit biometric ID to activate the India eSIM?
Indicomm's checkout runs no KYC step (Airalo catalog data, checked 17 August 2026). Section 3(7) creates a biometric-identification duty, but it falls on an Indian "authorised entity" serving a subscriber directly. This page's reading of the commencement record does not show that subsection switched on, separately from its two unread trigger conditions.
Can carrying too many SIM cards get you in legal trouble in India?
Yes. That covers equipment rigged to accommodate more subscriber identity modules than an authorisation allows. It also covers modules obtained through fraud or impersonation. Section 42(3)(d) and (e) make both a criminal offence, carrying up to three years' imprisonment, a fine up to fifty lakh rupees, or both.
Is there a limit on how many SIM cards you can use in India?
The Act's Third Schedule sets a civil penalty for excess SIM use, repeated instances up to two lakh rupees each. The Act does not state that number itself; it is set by a separate notification this page has not located, and the sections that would enforce the penalty are not shown switched on in this edition's commencement record. Hong Kong's regulator, by contrast, states its own cap outright: ten cards per individual user.
What's the APN for the India eSIM on Android?
`globaldata`, typed in manually under the phone's Access Point Names settings. iOS sets it automatically; Android does not. This is the same value this project documented for China's Chinacom profile.
Why doesn't Indian telecom law ever use the word "SIM"?
The Act writes the object out in full instead of abbreviating it: "subscriber identity module," three times, always plural, checked against the full 82,130-character text. A bare search for "SIM" returns zero either way. The rule is real; the word choice just isn't the one most searches expect.

Sources and freshness

This page reads the Telecommunications Act, 2023 (Act No. 44 of 2023), consolidated “As on the 24th June, 2026” edition, sourced from indiacode.nic.in. It was saved locally as an 82,130-character file and read in full on 17 August 2026. Every provision quoted above comes straight from that text: sections 1(3), 2(e), 2(i), 2(k), 3(7), 42(3), 42(7), 56(2)(e), and the Third Schedule’s item 1. Character and phrase counts were run in Python. Both the full file and the 78,050-character body were checked, the second with the title page and table of contents cut. Every count reported above held the same value both ways.

Several categories of Indian telecom regulation were not read for this page. Each is named above, under the “What we did not read” heading. Plans, pricing, network, KYC status and the manual-APN step for this eSIM for India all come from Airalo’s own catalog data, checked 17 August 2026. All of it can change without notice.

This page reads the Act as of 17 August 2026, including its own record of which provisions have been brought into force. It does not track future Gazette notifications, and it should be rechecked before relying on it for anything beyond ordinary travel use.

Sources cited only — expert review pending. For individualized advice, consult a licensed professional.

What this costs against the rest of Asia

Cheaper nearby
Dearer nearby

Our retail prices from the operator catalogue, checked 28 September 2026.

Elsewhere in Asia

Which of these rules actually reach a traveller ›

Nadezhda Semenova · updated 12 Sept 2026

Every figure on this page carries the date we checked it. Rules change — verify with the regulator before you fly.